Russian aviation security risks being put on red flag list – Airways Magazine

DALLAS – The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) fears that there is an aviation security problem in Russia.

According to a media report RBCICAO’s concerns were voiced in a closed bulletin from the organization on June 15. ICAO’s perception is linked to the fact that Russian planes are registered in the registers of different countries.

In the communication, the ICAO said that if the problem is not resolved by September 14, Russia will be included in the list of countries that have officially declared flight safety problems. The list includes countries such as Eritrea and Bhutan.

According to the RBC report, ICAO spokesman Anthony Philbin also pointed out that if Russia does not comply with this condition, a “red flag” will appear on the organization’s website with the results of the audits of flight safety. He explained that the “red flags” are not a punishment or a threat, but “are used to collectively inform other countries”, with each state deciding for itself how to use the information.

The organization can recommend that Russia solve its security problems or exclude it from participating countries, which would cause serious problems with international flights and access to navigation systems.

More than 700 aircraft leases have been unilaterally terminated due to sanctions, according to Rosaviatsia, the country’s civil aviation authority. There are now more than 600 aircraft in the Russian civil aviation register. Most planes are Airbus and Boeing.

Bloomberg reported in early June that, to circumvent sanctions that have barred some Russian airlines from renting planes and accessing maintenance and repair facilities since the invasion of Ukraine, they were considering setting up carriers based in Turkey.

Aeroflot is the main Russian carrier. Photo: Brandon Farris/Airways

EU Air Safety List

Similar to the ICAO list, the EU Aviation Safety List, which is a list of airlines subject to an operating ban or operating restrictions within the European Union because they do not meet international safety requirements, was reviewed by the European Commission on 25 November 2021.

The EU Aviation Safety List not only helps to maintain high levels of safety in the EU, but also helps airlines and the countries concerned to improve theirs. In addition, the EU Air Safety List has become an important prevention tool, as it encourages countries to take early action before a ban becomes necessary.

Following the November update, 97 airlines are banned from EU skies:

  • 90 certified airlines in 15 states (Afghanistan, Angola (except 2 airlines), Armenia, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Nepal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, and Sudan), are prohibited due to inadequate safety oversight by the aviation authorities of those States;
  • Seven individual airlines, based on identified serious safety deficiencies: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria), Skol Airline LLC (Russia) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

Two other airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).

Rossiya VQ-BAS Airbus A319 (Zenith livery). Photo: Alberto Cucini/airways

United States Aviation Safety List

In the United States, under the International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) program, the FAA determines whether another country’s surveillance of its air carriers operating or seeking to operate in the United States, or codeshare with a US air carrier, complies with safety standards established by ICAO. The IASA program is administered by the FAA’s Associate Administrator for Aviation Safety (AVS), Flight Standards Service (AFS), and International Programs and Policy Division (AFS-50).

The IASA program focuses on a country’s ability, not the ability of individual air carriers, to meet the international aviation safety standards and recommended practices contained in Annex 1 ( personnel licensing), Annex 6 (Operation of Aircraft) and Annex 8 (Airworthiness of Aircraft) to the International Convention on Civil Aviation “Chicago Convention” (ICAO document 7300).

As of April 21, 2022, the following countries do not meet ICAO standards according to the FAA’s IASA program list:

Bangladesh; Curacao; Ghana; Malaysia; Mexico; Members of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States – Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis; Pakistan; Russia; Thailand; and Venezuela.

Feature image: S7 Airlines VP-BPC Airbus A321-211. Photo: Alberto Cucini/Airways

Comments are closed.